Samuel Barber – Recommended Recordings

196 Foote

197 Piano Trios nos. 1 & 2, Naxos 8.559039

Francesca Da Rimini, Character Pieces, Suite, Gerard Schwarz, Seattle

198 SO, Naxos 8559365

199 Barber

Complete Orchestral Works, Marin Alsop, Royal Scottish National

200 Orchestra et al., Naxos 8506021 (6 CDs), or individually below:

68 The Composers

Symphonies nos. 1 & 2, The School for Scandal Overture, and First Essay

201 for Orchestra, Naxos 8.559088

Knoxville: Summer of1915; Second and Third Essays for Orchestra, Toccata

202 Festiva, Naxos 8. 559134

Cello Concerto, Medea Ballet Suite, and Adagio for Strings, Marin Alsop,

203 Royal Scottish NO, Wendy Warner, Naxos 8.559088

Violin Concerto (plus Edgar Meyer Violin Concerto), Hugh Wolff,

204 St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, Hilary Hahn, Sony Classical 89029

Three Essays for Orchestra, Excerpts from Vanessa, Music for a Scene from

Shelley, and Medea’s Meditation and Dance ofVengeance, Neeme Järvi,

205 Detroit SO, Chandos 9908

206 Giannini

Piano Concerto, Symphony no. 4, Daniel Spalding, Bournemouth SO,

207 Gabriela Imreh, Naxos 8.559352

208 Fetler

Violin Concerto no. 2: Three Poems by Walt Whitman; Capriccio, Ann

209 Arbor SO, Arie Lipsky, Aaron Berofsky et al., Naxos 8.559606

210 Aikman

Violin Concerto, Lines in Motion; Pavane for String Orchestra; and Con-
certo for Saxophone and Orchestra, Vladimir Lande, St. Petersburg

211 State SO, Charles Wetherbee, Taimur Sullivan, Naxos 8.559720

212 Corigliano

Violin Concerto, The Red Violin; Phantasmagoria, Suite from the Ghosts

of Versailles, JoAnn Faletta, Buffalo PO, Michael Ludwig, Naxos

213 8.559671

Samuel Barber and His ‘‘School’’: American Beauty 69

214 Gallagher

Diversions Overture; Berceuse; The Sinfonietta for strings; Symphony in

215 One Movement: Threnody, JoAnn Faletta, LSO, Naxos 8.559652

216 Krouse

Rhapsody for Violin and Orchestra, Cuando Se Abre en la Mañana,

<> Thamary Amnon, and Tientos, James Sedares, New Zealand SO et

217 al., Koch 7482 (oop)

218 Argento

Te Deum (plus Duruflé Messe ‘Cum Jubilo’), Paul Salamunovich, LA

219 Master Chorale, RCM 12002

220 Valentino Dances and Orchestral Works, Reference Recordings RR-91

Casa Guidi, Frederica Von Stade, Eiji Oue, Minnesota Orchestra, Ref-

221 erence Recordings 100

<> Evensong—OfLove And Angels, Lewis, Futral, Reed, Cathedral Choral

222 Society, Gothic Records, 49269

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s